Area H Alternative School: 40 Year Reunion

Name tag

If I had my life to live over again I don’t think that I would change very much that happened in my childhood. I might change a few things in it but nothing that had to with my early years in elementary. However, the school grades went from kindergarten to 12th grade. So not only was it awesome that I got to hang out with the big kids, but it was where my ideas and thoughts and memories were formed. I can remember certain things about my childhood so vividly and other things in my later young life are very vague and cloudy at best. The amazing thing about that is, I only attended AHAS for 3 or 4 years but the memories that were made in my mind will last for a long time if not forever. I mean my goodness I remember the names of most of my school mates young and old, as well as their back stories and last names lol.

Which brings me to the actual reunion. That was brilliant because most of the faces had changed some, but the people I was closest to hadn’t changed hardly at all. Which was really interesting. There were so many things that happened at that school, mostly all good, or at least that’s how I remember it. Or should I say choose to remember it? That I don’t know where to begin, having said that when the alumni did a couple of songs from some of the plays that we did at the school I was spellbound. Truly, it almost brought me to tears. The feelings I felt are hard to articulate. I didn’t know I could be that emotional about a memory that I had, honestly. Or that it could bring up emotion just by hearing the songs sung by the actors/schoolmates that performed them back in the day. I don’t know maybe I’m getting super sentimental in my old age. Which is fine, it’s just a new side of me I just discovered. I may have more to say later.

So, here is where you muse/rant about what I've mused/ranted about...

