Growing Up in Sliver Lake…a fairly safe little hood!!!

Silver Lake Reservoir

If I had it to do all over again I just want to say right now, I don’t think growing up in Sliver Lake, which is the middle of Los Angeles was a bad thing for a kids childhood.  Perhaps, because I grew up in the 70’s, and yes I know I’m dating my self but who cares. And partly because the area I grew up in was fairly diverse and full of history. Being a product of the generation X it stands to reason that kids at that time were raised by mostly TV, single mom’s and their neighborhoods, unfortunately. Watching lot’s of Speed Racer and Kimba as well as loads of Bugs Bunny and The Little Rascels. Mostly, on the public broadcasting station. Which happened to be located about 10 blocks from my house back then. Silver Lake, I’m very proud to say was a safe little city within a city. With lot’s of steep hills to climb and ride down with a skateboard back then, sitting down preferably, and beautiful houses all around, kids played in the park or on the streets. Also, public schools are pretty decent in that area. I think what I enjoyed most about growing up there is that as dangerous as LA was, at the time, nothing bad ever happened to me or any of the kids I grew up with in that area as children and not because it couldn’t happen, it just didn’t. Not only is that a blessing but a great shout out to that little neighborhood, thanks Silver Lake for keeping me safe and giving me great memories of my youth. I love and miss you Sliver Lake.

Shazza’s…Musings&Rants

Just a few interesting facts about this great place:

The Silver Lake area is located five miles northwest of downtown Los Angeles and just east of Griffith Park. The district gets its name from the Department of Water and Power’s Silver Lake Reservoir, which was named after Herman Silver, a member of Los Angeles’ fist Board of Water commissioners. The Department of Water and Power established these reservoirs in the early 1900s as a par of the city-wide system of water storage & delivery that today has only 10 open reservoirs remaining. And the first location of Walt Disney Studios, which is now located in Burbank, CA about 15 miles from its original beginnings.

Silver Lake, CA is located five miles northwest of downtown Los Angeles, CA and just east of Griffith Park. It is divided between the Zip Codes of 90039 and 90026, with part of Sunset Junction in 90029 and with parts of Hyperion and Fountain Avenues in 90027.

Silver Lake City Sign Photo by HOSL.com

So, here is where you muse/rant about what I've mused/ranted about...

