Lailani, my daughter, was baptized today!!! 7/08/2012

Lani’s Ms Swag Ladybug look.

Psalm 127:3-5

3 Behold, children are a heritage from the Lord, the fruit of the womb a reward. 4 Like arrows in the hand of a warrior are the children of one’s youth. 5 Blessed is the man who fills his quiver with them! He shall not be put to shame when he speaks with his enemies in the gate. (ESV)

Today my only child was baptized, just 4 days after her 21st birthday, this is a day that a christian longs for if they have children. For me this is such a beautiful gift, one that I don’t deserve. There are no words to describe the joy in my heart for this moment!!!!

I remember when she was just a little tike, there were skeptics who said, “Oh it will be difficult for you to bring your daughter up in Christ because you are single.” Well Christ is bigger than all the skeptics and he can do anything!!! And they were right it would be difficult for me to bring my daughter to Christ, especially since He does it all anyway. I take absolutely no credit for her becoming a believer. I just thank Him for allowing me to participate in this extraordinary endevour. He gave her to me as a gift and for His good pleasure, and He returned her back to Himself for her good and His ultimate glory!!! I’m rejoicing with you my Lani, luv!!! Musings&Rants ~ Shazza

3 thoughts on “Lailani, my daughter, was baptized today!!! 7/08/2012

  1. Lailani’s Testimony…

    We attended Grace Community Church when I was little, where I participated in Cubbies and AWANA happily. Until adolescence came around and,all I wanted was to be left alone. I didn’t want to be bothered anymore with getting up early to go to Church or finishing my bible study work. My assumed zeal for God as a child waned as I began to understand sin and the uncomfortable feeling of conviction. Who was that pastor to be judging me? And how can homosexuality be a sin, I had gay people in my family what about them? The exclusivity was disturbing, how could Jesus be the only way? The world told me one thing and the Bible told me another. So I began to agree with the world, christian people became hypocrites and bigots in my eyes. Yet I still wanted to wear the label of Christianity, just while sporting a compromised gospel. In essence the lie I told myself was, “Yes, you can look and act like the World, and still be pleasing to God.”

    But, in my heart I knew I was wrong, that my behaviour and my attitude were wrong. My conscience was plagued and heavy with guilt even at 14 years old. It was at that age that I went on my first retreat with Placerita Baptist Youth Group. I had always felt like an ugly outcast among all the Christian kids that seemed so perfect to me, the feeling increased at this retreat. I kept to myself and it gave me the opportunity to contemplate my wretchedness and God’s judgement and perfection. I felt if I could just stop sinning then God would save me, if I could give it up, he would accept me. I remember crying out and asking God to please just help me to be acceptable, because I did not think I could stop sinning on my own. It was then I finally understood that I needed help from God but, it did not make me feel any better. I still couldn’t quite believe I could be saved just like that, through my faith in Jesus Christ’s death on the cross. I didn’t understand why I still felt like a horrible person. Why was I still sinning? In all this confusion my mother and I fell on trials that led to a few years of transience, I was newly saved with limited guidance, and an immature understanding of the gospel. And though we sought a church home, we were frequently disappointed by a lack of solid ground.

    So, I floundered in worldliness Christian by name but not by appearance, professing but struggling to walk. I ignored the concern and guidance of my mother, thinking I could do it on my own. Through High school I was no example but, I desired to walk with Christ as I knew I should. I could still see God’s hand in my life, despite my rebellion, and I could see his protection. Without those difficulties I wouldn’t have seen how mighty my God is. How he proved to me that he was able and that he was deserving of all praise. Finally I realized that I couldn’t continue under my own strength. So I cried out again unable to stand the abuse, hate, theft and sexual immorality that surrounded me.
    And God answered through his word, “O man of God, flee these things and pursue righteousness, godliness, faith, love, patience, gentleness. Fight the good fight of faith, lay hold on eternal life, to which you were also called and have confessed the good confessions in the presence of many witnesses.” ~ 1 Timothy 6:11-12

    The world hates to see you go but, Christ is so much better than anything the world could ever offer. Certain things after salvation just fall away, others need to be battered tooth, nail and Bible. But, the reward of the fear of the Lord is seeing him work in your life and the life of the Church, and peace that only comes from understanding and knowing that Jesus holds all things together not us. If then you were raised with Christ, seek those things which are above, where Christ is, sitting at the right hand of God. Set your mind on things above, not on things on the earth. For you died, and your life is hidden with Christ in God. When Christ who is our life appears, then you also will appear with Him in glory. ~ Colossians 3:1-4

    I’m here before my brothers and sisters to be baptized and make my good confession in the presence of many witnesses, that I have been born again by the Holy Spirit and saved from judgement by the blood of Jesus Christ on the Cross. That my sins have been forgiven by my Father in heaven not because of my own merit but, because of the love and mercy of his Son that he would take my place on the Cross and satisfy the perfect wrath of His Father. Acknowledging that it is not this water that saves me but, that it is a symbol of my conversion to all and in accordance to the Word of God. And that my desire in my baptism, is to proclaim the work that God has done in my life in public before Jesus Christ my living saviour.

    Like

So, here is where you muse/rant about what I've mused/ranted about...

