A very dark hour

Rasta at 2 months

So this story is about my daughter’s dog. His name was Rastafa. He was a cute little puppy. We called him puppa. Anyway, I gave my daughter the dog for her 16th birthday. At the time we lived in Las Vegas an she kept asking me for a dog. So on her birthday I decided to get one for her.

He was a very cute dog he was a mutt but they say those are the best dogs. He was half lhasa apso half terrier. Well we got him from a friend of mine at work. I paid a pretty good penny for him too. He was so cute too as a puppy. So my daughter gets him for her birthday and she loves him. Their birthdays were 2 days apart which made it all the more special for her. So since she was going through a Jamaican phase at the time she decided to name him Rastafa lol. I thought it was interesting and would be hard to remember and how many people would mistakenly call him Mufasa, the father from The Lion King movie lol?

Rastafa 6 months

So now she and her puppa are one. Well it’s a love story to say the least, she trained him and bathed him and cut his hair. She walked him and everything, and without me asking most of time. It was the perfect age to get her a dog. She was ready for the responsibility. What was also nice is since the wonderful internet has come along she looked up anything that was just not right with him. So, she had a deluge of too much information at her disposal. He was really easy to train to. His most favorite thing in the whole world was beef jerky and chicken. Oh and his shredded rope.

Well, the darkest moments are coming now. We had him for about a year when my auntie has a stroke. This was a really bad time and scary time in our family. Well, Lani didn’t like living in vegas and had asked my aunt a year before if she could come and live with her, before we got Rasta of course, Rasta is short for Rastafa. Well, my aunt never gave her an answer until she had the stroke. Then my aunt ask Lani to come right away. I was so distraught that I just said yes and Lani left a month after her 17th birthday. She went because she could help my aunt with things since my aunt had a really bad speech problem called Aphasia after the stroke. So off my daughter went to help out her auntie. Well guess who got left behind in the aftermath? You guest it Rastafa. So Lani went back to LA and Rasta stayed with me, in Vegas. However, Rasta wasn’t my dog and I was moving to another apartment in Vegas and he couldn’t come so, we had to then find him a new home because, where Lani had moved no pets there either ugh!!

So we called my grandpa’s wife Karen. He had since passed but she was an advocate for dogs so she stepped right in to help us. So I got in my car and drove Rasta to Lani because Karen also lived in LA. So for 3 or 4 weeks Lani and my auntie had to smuggle Rasta at her house til Karen could find a home from him. When we got the news that she found a place, I drove back out to LA to say goodbye to him and take him with my daughter to his new home. At, this point me and Lani were distraught. It was a really awful thing to have to give him up. Man that was hard. When I got to LA to take him to the new home he saw me and jumped on me and kissed me for 15 minutes. It made me cry. He missed me. So we said our goodbyes to him and got in the car and took him to his new home. The funny thing about it all was my auntie who didn’t really care for dogs loved him in that 3 weeks and let him sleep on her bed and everything. I couldn’t believe it. So when we took him and went to the new home she was just as sad as we were.

Well we picked up Karen, and we all went over to his new home in Santa Clarita. My Lani lived in Arcadia at the time and Santa Clarita was about 40 miles away from her. She felt a little better about that because we used to live in Santa Clarita so she new the area really well. When we got to his new place we were so happy for him because the couple that took him in had another dog that he could play with and he was moving up in the world to a big back yard and a lovely home. So although it was a dark day we were still happy for him. We miss him so much it still gets me all teary eyed thinking about it and him. So we met his new family and they of course loved him. We were kind of hoping they wouldn’t like him so she could keep him for a little longer lol, but that didn’t happen because he needed not be at my aunt’s house. They took him with no problem and we were happy and sad. In all it was a great teaching tool for my Lani and me but we never want to have to go through that turmoil ever again in life. To Rasta we miss you so much puppa but we know your happy. Much love to you all Shazza ~ Musings&Rants

The day he went to his new home.


One thought on “A very dark hour

So, here is where you muse/rant about what I've mused/ranted about...

