My first and last try acting, if you want to call it that.

Ellen Geer, Memory of Us, 1974

Ok just going back down memory lane lol…I was in this movie, I was in a school chorus and we had to sing, “Down By The Old Mill Stream.” For about 4 hours straight Circa, 1973. I knew then being in a movie was not for me. I was 8 or 9.

Movie Synopsis…
He’s believable as the insensitive husband, Brad; his delivery is natural and you can feel his frustration with his wife’s unease, which he doesn’t understand. It’s also fun to watch Ellen Geer, she’s pretty and expressive (I never see her without thinking of Sunshine Dore), and I appreciate what she was trying to say (she wrote the script), but she expresses her dissatisfaction through internal monologues, and thirty years later they’re dated–they must have sounded stilted even in 1975.

The good: watching Brad and Betty’s scenes together as they sink into a bad marriage, you do get the feeling of increasing distance over time and lost opportunity; Jon Cypher (sigh); 70s bell bottoms and orange kitchen counter tops; the “swingers” subplot

The bad: stereotype of an unfulfilled housewife–an unimaginative depiction that leaves you unsympathetic; the interior monologues don’t strike the right note
~summary provided by IMDB.

This clip is from a movie I was in long ago, it’s one of those I love Lucy moments because you only see me on the wide shot of all the kids lol. I’m the kid at the top of the staircase. The dark kid all the way to the right. The year was 1973 I would have been 8 years old.

Umm, thank you IMDB…that was completely unhelpful being that I never got to see this movie, it was too adult for me at the time. Since finding this movie they didn’t even make it into a DVD, however I did find a video copy on ebay, maybe I will buy it and one day I will figure out how to download it to you tube so I can put it on my blog.

So, here is where you muse/rant about what I've mused/ranted about...

