Being an entertainment junkie…

      

Ephesians 4:22-24 ~ 22 to put off your old self,which belongs to your former manner of life and is corrupt through deceitful desires, 23 and to be renewed in the spirit of your minds, 24 and to put on the new self, created after the likeness of God in true righteousness and holiness. (ESV)

Thinking about this concept, I took a good hard look at my blog page. And I noticed on the clouds of content part of my blog, the biggest label is entertainment. I was really convicted by that, thinking I spend a lot of time trying to entertain myself and not enough time contemplating scripture and God. What I mean by that is, the bible is clear about each of his children spending time getting to know him through his word, and letting Him be our sufficiency. Anyway, back to my neglect, I shouldn’t be doing this, what I should be doing is truly experiencing the Lord, resting, talking, trusting, praying, learning, and desiring Him and all his attributes. Understanding what His word means when the word talks about the Goodness of God, and His excellencies. Not filling my mind with every worldly thing!!! And not that this worldliness is necessarily bad but just not of God. For instance, all my reviews on movies. There are way to many of those and not enough posts about what God has done and is doing in my walk with Him.

Some verses that catch my brain:

Ephesians 1:17 ~ 17 that the God of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of glory, may give you the Spirit of wisdom and of revelation in the knowledge of him,

1 Timothy 2:4 ~ who desires all people to be saved and to come to the knowledge of the truth.

These are just observations I’m making since the other day when I looked at my blog and noticed all the movie reviews and my content cloud.  My question is why do I consume myself with fiction, and not with the reality of Christ? Why should this be? The only reason I can think of is, that my sin tries to bind me to what is not true, and I give into this temptation. So the flesh battles on with my spiritual life. This can be amazingly frustrating. I know one thing for sure, is that if I’m excited about the word of God and what it says, like I am about going to a movie or reading a good book, then I will be putting on the Lord and putting off the world. Dear God help me to love your word and everything it says!!!! Ok here is another scripture:

1 Corinthians 13:9-12 ~ For we know in part and we prophesy in part, 10 but when the perfect comes, the partial will pass away. 11 When I was a child, I spoke like a child, I thought like a child, I reasoned like a child. When I became a man, I gave up childish ways. 12 For now we see in a mirror dimly, but then face to face. Now I know in part; then I shall know fully, even as I have been fully known.

And one more:

Romans 13:14 ~ 14 But put on the Lord Jesus Christ, and make no provision for the flesh, to gratify its desires.

So, here is where you muse/rant about what I've mused/ranted about...

