I’m so glad birthday’s only come once a year!!! My word!!!

I don’t know why but I have never really cared for celebrating my birthday. It seems kind of like an overrated day if you ask me. Maybe because there is so much pressure for it to be the best birthday you ever had? I don’t know but birthday’s can be a let down to me. I must have had in my past too many expectations of what my birthday would be, and then my birthday was never anything like what I expected. Maybe because, as a child your mom made such a big deal about you getting older because in her viewpoint it’s a milestone. Which I understand, however to the child having the birthday depending when you start to really understand them your like, “okay, this day is all about me, and what I want, wow what a cool idea.” And then when people on the street pass you by, and they don’t make a big deal about you, then you think, “that’s odd, why aren’t they getting excited about me?” As if they should know just by looking at me that it’s my birthday.

My first bday card for my birthday today. From my little friend John.
My first bday card for my birthday today. From my little friend John.

All that to say, birthday’s as far as I’m concerned, are pretty much just a day to reflect on where and who I am in Christ, now, in my life. It doesn’t mean I should get a cake, or have a party where everyone around me gives me gifts and yell about what a great person I am. My birthday is just a reminder that I’m human and my days are numbered on this earth, so I need to get too it, as far as doing what is right, and just in the eyes of God, before my number is up on this earth. I hope I don’t sound downtrodden, but, I want my birthday’s to be about my rebirth in Christ and not the day I came into the world. Because, when I came into the world I was an unrepentant sinner with no real moral conscience  Although, that was a good day for my mom, for me I don’t remember it. The rebirth however, is something I will not ever forget, and is so much more significant to me. Because this is the day that I can challenge myself to grow in grace so that by next year hopefully, I will have made progress in the GROWING areas. Here’s the scripture that just came to me…Do not be conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewal of your mind, that by testing you may discern what is the will of God, what is good and acceptable and perfect. ~ Romans 12:2 (ESV) 

So worrying about getting older, who’s coming to my birthday party, who didn’t and all the superficial things we can get caught up in, is self-centered and puts our focus on the wrong things. Our concerns should be, what have we learned in the last year, and how can we serve other’s better in the next. One thing I am grateful for about my birthday is, I am a year closer to glory, and there I won’t worry about my age, how I look at my age or any such thing, it will all be about God and worshiping him! Shazza ~  Musings&Rants

3 thoughts on “I’m so glad birthday’s only come once a year!!! My word!!!

So, here is where you muse/rant about what I've mused/ranted about...

