Letting my Ladybug fly

lani and shaina
Lani with her big hair

So my daughter’s nickname is Ladybug and recently she left home to live kind of on her own. Since she’s almost 22 and wanted her independence, but she couldn’t afford her own place, she decided to go to Job Corps. Since the economy is so bad, and I, not wanting her to go into the service, she decided this would be the best plan B. So she did her research and made an appointment to see a counselor and decided to go. She can learn a trade and earn a little money. She started college but didn’t want to finish college now because she didn’t want any loans, so she thought this would placate me and she would be happy with her decision. But, can I just say at this juncture this didn’t appease me at all, but what can I do, as a parent of a young adult??? One reason, is because she has to live on campus, and, she has a curfew, then, I can only see her on the weekends. Well, that last part isn’t exactly true, she can leave during the week with a pass. However, since this is all voluntary she could leave the program at anytime and it’s in Sacramento where we live, so I decided to get on board. I said, “this is an okay decision, go for it Ladybug.” (Not that she necessarily would have to do what I say.) But she’s a young adult that wants to respect her mom’s wishes. And that is a beautiful thing.

Since she left 2 weeks ago I miss her, she is such a great encouragement to me. But the key word in the last sentence is (me) and that’s it. She needs to do what she wants to do, and of course I should be an encouragement to her. So,as she flew the nest and she loves it, the only other thing I’m concerned about is she decided to take carpentry. Really? I don’t know any women carpenters, but oh well. So she explained, since they didn’t offer art in the program this was the next best available trade where she can make things. So God bless you my dear girl and, FLY LADYBUG FLY with your hammer!!!!  Shazza ~ Musings&Rants

Ladybugs-ladybugs-15392457-275-183

John 16:21 ~ When a woman is giving birth, she has sorrow because her hour has come, but when she has delivered the baby, she no longer remembers the anguish, for joy that a human being has been born into the world. (ESV) 

9 thoughts on “Letting my Ladybug fly

  1. How very grown-up of you… I still don’t want mine to leave… *grin*… Well, sometimes, but I get ya… let them have their wings… you’ve taught her to fly… (PS: Jesus was a carpenter…) *hugs* luv khrys…

    Like

  2. How beautiful. I know how hard it is to let your children go, but isn’t that why we spend all of those years raising them to think for themselves and make wise decisions? So they can go forth and be and do what God has called them to be and do? 🙂 Carpentry is a good honorable trade. The love of my life was once a carpenter… until He left that career and became an itinerant minister who had no place to lay His head… 😀

    Much love to you sister,
    Cheryl

    Like

    • I’m pretty sure I remember his name too, Jesus right??? 🙂 Yes it is nice to see them make very good independent mature decisions. The Lord has truly blessed me Cheryl.
      Love back at you, BFFL
      Shazza

      Like

So, here is where you muse/rant about what I've mused/ranted about...

