Fun Fact Friday’s ~ Disneyland!

I’m starting this Fun, Fact, Friday’s, post thingy. It’s a blog party that was started by: Scribbles and Sprinkles

Scribbles and Sprinkles blog

Here’s how it works:

  • On a given Friday, tell us a fun fact.
  • What is a fun fact?
    Likes or Dislikes?
    -”I have never….”
    -General Knowledge or “Did you Know…”
    -Throw back to past memories! Childhood momentos? Photos?
  • Copy and paste the button, then link back!

So my Fun Fact is a Did you know, about Disneyland, thanks to Atlanta Mom of Three who inspired me to do this.

Disneyland Ticket booklet
The horrible booklet

When I was a kid in the early 70’s and lived in Los Angeles CA, my cousins and I, since I was an only child, would (if we were good) get to go to Disneyland. When we got there, our parents paid for us to get in and then had to pay again for these ticket booklets for us to get on rides. Which seems kind of sad when you think about it today. Paying twice??? Anyway, at that time I just didn’t care about that, but the cuz’s and I would almost always seem to run out of E tickets and that was the best ticket to have because you got to get on the big fun rides. Oh wait, I have to go back to the first trip to Disneyland. I was the little-lest of the cousins, so the first time we went, the bigger cousins, took all my E tickets because I was too small to go on the big kid rides. So when they snatched my booklet, and took my tickets I cried. Until, my mother intervened and said, “stop that, she can save them for when she is big enough to go on those rides.” This is why we love our mom’s I think. Anyway, so to use the tickets that you saved, they had to be connected to the booklet. The only people who could disconnect them were the ticket booth people. It was very complicated and annoying if you ask me. I’m so glad they got rid of that. It made Disneyland more of the happiest place on earth. Like their sign says.  Also, it was made into a cliché that people used to use back then, “It’s as good as an E ticket.” I didn’t know that saying, but someone shared that with me on Facebook,  I guess they were a bit older than I. 🙂

disneyland sign
The sign that wasn’t living up to its promise.

The actual facts: In June 1959, amid the completion of Disneyland’s first major expansion, Disney introduced the “E” designation for the park’s most popular attractions and made the new Submarine Voyage, Matterhorn Bobsleds, and Disneyland–Alweg Monorail “E” coupon attractions. Additionally, the Santa Fe & Disneyland Railroad, Rocket to the Moon, Rainbow Ridge Pack Mules, Rainbow Mountain Stage Coaches, Mark Twain Riverboat, Sailing Ship Columbia, Rafts to Tom Sawyer Island, and Jungle Cruise – all previously “D” rides – were upgraded to “E”.[1] “E” remained the highest attraction/coupon designation for over 20 years. Several “E” attractions were added throughout the 1960s and 1970s. In 1971 the coupon system was duplicated at the Magic Kingdom when it opened.

The coupon system was gradually phased out with the introduction of unlimited use tickets beginning in the late 1970s. This was largely due to competition from Magic Mountain, which, when it opened in 1971, allowed its visitors unlimited use of its attractions after paying the admission fee. By June 1982 coupons vanished entirely and were replaced by the present-day system where main gate admission entitles visitors to all rides and attractions, excluding coin-operated arcades. (Info from Wikipedia)

So join us. Shazza ~ Musings&Rants

4 thoughts on “Fun Fact Friday’s ~ Disneyland!

  1. WOW! That’s so neat! I had no idea they used to use tickets!! Naughty cousins trying to use your tickets. 😉 One price admission is much better. 😀

    Like

So, here is where you muse/rant about what I've mused/ranted about...

