Side Effects

jude law and Roony Mara
Jude Law & Rooney Mara

Well, I went to see this movie and thought this is exactly what a thriller should look like. Thrillers, are one of my most favorite genres, and this one didn’t disappoint. I liked not being able to figure out the surprises in the movie. I also liked the cast, which was also part of how or what gave the movie it’s flare, if that makes sense. Also, whomever did the trailer, did it exceedingly well which left you to think something else, from what actually happened. Very well done all the way around. Jude Law plays a psychiatrist and Rooney Mara plays his patient, and so the story goes.

This was the first Jude Law film that he didn’t irritate me in, and there is a new actor Rooney Mara, Girl With The Dragon Tattoo, and Youth In Revolt, who played the lady lead, is an exceptional new comer! I will now watch her other older movies for more reference. It’s really nice to see a young actor tear up the movie screen (in a good way) early in their career. Those actors are hard to find, but she’s got my vote for a bright future. I was quite surprised that Steven Soderbergh directed such a good movie I’ve been worried about him for a while, since Magic Mike being kinda boring and all. This movie however, was reminiscent of the Ocean Eleven series, as far as twists. I was glad to see that again. On another blog I read, this is supposed to be his last movie venture, if that’s true he’s saying goodbye with a good one. I wouldn’t recommend this movie for anyone under 18, with lots of adult subject matter, and no warning sex jump cuts. I would say more but I don’t want to ruin it. Outside of that pretty well written and directed. I give it a B . Shazza ~ Musings&Rants

Rooney Mara
Rooney Mara

 

So, here is where you muse/rant about what I've mused/ranted about...

