Be Thou My Vision…A Spiritual Hymn

copy right 2This pic is taken with a Nikon P80 CoolPix Camera

Be Thou my Vision, O Lord of my heart;
Naught be all else to me, save that Thou art.
Thou my best Thought, by day or by night,
Waking or sleeping, Thy presence my light.

This hymn is one of my favorites and makes me cry every time I hear it. It just lifts me to the sky and I know the holy spirit is there. The words have such deep meaning and it helps me to understand what I believe, and why I believe in God. I realize also that if more people really heard the lyrics to a song, they would understand more of what the content is as well, and that’s true of any song. But this hymn just speaks to the heart of the matter, and I begin to understand how important my faith in God is.

Be Thou my Wisdom, and Thou my true Word;
I ever with Thee and Thou with me, Lord;
Thou my great Father, I Thy true son;
Thou in me dwelling, and I with Thee one.

Be thou my true wisdom, this is plainly what I desire, to not be wise not in my own eyes, but wise in the eyes of God. I want his godly wisdom in my life. I also, desire to dwell with him like this verse says. Just He and I always, the triune God, not flinching, and looking toward what is physical and earthly. But what’s holy and unseen, what’s to come, something that can’t be grasped with hands of flesh, but, only with my mind and the spirit that God gave me.

Be Thou my battle Shield, Sword for the fight;
Be Thou my Dignity, Thou my Delight;
Thou my soul’s Shelter, Thou my high Tower:
Raise Thou me heavenward, O Power of my power.

Be thou my battle shield, what a concept, to be shielded from folly by my God and Savior, to understand that I have nothing to fear if I have the Creator’s protection. Living and basking in this truth is paramount, to faith and understanding of my life. Not that physical harm can’t touch me, but ultimately that isn’t my concern for what’s fleshly, but for what is everlasting which is my spirit. Also, that I go to glory and sing God’s praises with Him there together with all the saints.

Riches I heed not, nor man’s empty praise,
Thou mine Inheritance, now and always:
Thou and Thou only, first in my heart,
High King of Heaven, my Treasure Thou art.

Riches I heed not, this verse just brings me to tears, understanding that anything we receive on earth doesn’t compare the glory to come in heaven. That these treasures on earth will burn away on judgement day and we will only be left with our treasure in heaven. This is also a warning, to those who are only collecting treasure on earth. They will not receive a treasure in heaven, and what they stored up here, will be worth nothing on judgement day. “Thou, and thou only, first in my heart,” tells me that He is the only one I need concern myself with here, now on earth, and to put everything else second to Him. He is my king and my only treasure.

High King of Heaven, my victory won,
May I reach Heaven’s joys, O bright Heaven’s Sun!
Heart of my own heart, whatever befall,
Still be my Vision, O Ruler of all.  Lyrics ~ El­ea­nor H. Hull, 1912, alt.

Finally, high king of heaven, my victory won, just reiterating what was said about the battle, now that it’s won by RG rose copyrightbeing faithful I will experience the glories of heaven, understanding exactly what that means, with full knowledge, but which is veiled now. I only see in part what I will see fully on that day! So whatever befalls me here I have Him to look forward too eternally. Also, something just stood out to me in this song, and that is, the writer never mentions the name Jesus but only refers to Him as King, Lord and, other nouns. Shazza ~ Musings&Rants

2 thoughts on “Be Thou My Vision…A Spiritual Hymn

  1. Thank you Cheryl, that’s been on my heart since sunday when we sang this hymn yet again in corporate worship. I will think about what you said about, “sharing hymns and breaking them down.” Thanks again for always reading my God centered posts, Your awesome.
    Blessings, Shazza

    Like

  2. Shazza,

    This is one of my favorite hymns as well. Thank you so much for sharing your heart with each verse. It really ministered. I know you do a lot of entertainment reviews, but perhaps you should consider sharing hymns and breaking them down like you did here. There is great ministry in that, and I felt the anointing in you as you shared this one with us. Also, here is my favorite version of this song for your pleasure, my beloved friend:

    Much love to you,
    Cheryl

    Like

So, here is where you muse/rant about what I've mused/ranted about...

