The Great Gatsby (2013)

Ok, so I’m not sure why anyone would want to make a movie about this topic?

I thought it was super down trodden and kind of pointless. Having said that, Leonardo is brilliant in it. I also thought the costumes were good, I loved his pink linen suit.  The music was a little strange, and the moral of the story was convoluted, and confusing. The only thing great in this movie was the word “Great” in the title.

photo from www.reviewtrailers.com
photo from http://www.reviewtrailers.com

Sometimes, trailers mislead you and this is one of them. If you don’t know anything about the story, you will think it’s about something else.

Director, Baz Luhrmann, (Romeo & Juliet, Strickly Ballroom) loves to use actors in their late 20’s early 30’s pretty much across the board as his main characters, in most of his productions. I don’t know that I’ve ever seen anyone over 40 play a main character, ever. He likes everything sparkly, which is fine but, it lacks range, to his directing style and makes him kind of predictable.

This movie was ok, but I’m not a fan of Toby McGuire, and his narration or acting. Basically if he had divulged certain information to the main character Gatsby, he would have been helpful instead of looking dumbfounded/baffled, in every scene.  Also, I have yet to understand, why was it in 3D? Anyway, I give this movie a grade of C. Shazza ~ Musings&Rants

2 thoughts on “The Great Gatsby (2013)

  1. Hey – I tried to comment on your Great Gatsby post but it wouldn’t let me (the “post comment” wasn’t showing up) so here is my comment:
    Thanks for this review because I was thinking about seeing this but I think I’ll pass. Leo is HOT, as usual, but if the story is lacking I’d rather just watch Titanic again and be done with it! 😉

    Like

    • I think I figured it out Valerie, you either have to click on the title of my post or comments link at the bottom of the post to get the comment box. I may be going back to my old school blog theme, every time I try a new one I have problems. Thanks for the comment, and yes I was kinda disappointed in this one, it didn’t have a great american ending, and I like great american endings.

      Like

So, here is where you muse/rant about what I've mused/ranted about...

