My daughter: “Can I get my tongue pierced?”, Me: “What?!?”

lani at 16 black and white 2Lani at 16

Wow, I never thought I would be faced with that question. Up to then, my daughter had not asked to do anything silly as that.I didn’t know what to say, she was 16 and had not rebelled (outwardly), and I certainly didn’t want her to start now. So what does a mother do?

I prayed about it, I thought about it, I told her to give me some time. The bad part is that, I was living with my cousin and she was letting her 14 year old get her belly button done.

The thing about that was, we didn’t have the same parenting styles, I was way more strict with Lani than she was with her daughter. However, I wasn’t going to die on that hill with her, and decided to pick my battles, carefully.

So I took a deep breath and said, “yes, but I don’t want hear about how much it hurts.”  I also said, “I don’t want to even see that thing, hanging out of your mouth.” I also, didn’t take her to get it done, her cousin took her.

I was done, I thought, we need to move, what’s next from her, the birth control question? What I should have done was trusted my parenting and what I was teaching my daughter about God, and what He has to say about it. Instead, I panicked, in thinking the worst. Proverbs 22:6 ~ Train up a child in the way he should go; even when he is old he will not depart from it. (ESV)

So, I hurriedly, decided that maybe it wasn’t a good idea to be roommates with my cousin anymore. So, I let my cousin know that in 3 months we were moving out.

What I’m so grateful for is that, she never asked that birth control question, because she knew that wasn’t going to fly, and that’s because of the faith that I shared with her, about who God is and what His standard is for us. Even if, we don’t always meet His standard.

What makes this little post the most beautiful is, that my faith became her faith, and, when she turned 19, she decided to take the tongue piercing out, all on her own, because she said, she desired to please God, and to be different from the world. Psalm 40: 8 ~ I delight to do your will, O my God; your law is within my heart. (ESV) Thank you God, for converting her, convicting her, and making a happy ending!!! Shazza ~ Musings&Rants

nini and lani 2The cousins ~ Nini & Lani circa 1997

4 thoughts on “My daughter: “Can I get my tongue pierced?”, Me: “What?!?”

  1. Really enjoyed this post, S. I smiled throughout. Yeah, I would go, “WHaT>?!! You kidding me??!” You handled it diplomatically. And God honored your desire to honor Him in the parenting. Btw, she is beautiful.

    Like

    • Hey thanks D, that one was a toughy lol. Btw, she read that post you did a while back, oh geez, she said it was good I will ask her which one I told her to read. Lol see what happens as you age lol. And make sure she writes a comment.

      Like

So, here is where you muse/rant about what I've mused/ranted about...

