Daily Prompt: Say Your Name/Sharon

Write about your first name: Are you named after someone or something? Are there any stories or associations attached to it? If you had the choice, would you rename yourself?

Photographers, show us YOU.

I like this one, my first name is Sharon. My mother told me when I was born, my dad named me. She said since I was his only girl child she felt sorry for him and let that be my name. I thought how funny, she felt sorry for him.

My mother said she didn’t like that name, so she named me my middle name which is Lorraine.

When I was a little girl I always told people my name was Sharon, which was kinda confusing because my mom never called me that. Especially, since my dad no longer lived with us. I would always forget to tell them my mom calls me Lorraine so don’t be confused, my real name or wait Lorraine is my real name too. See?

She always referred to me ONLY as Lorraine, unless she was angry with me.

I’m not even sure I liked my middle name, it seemed more like a nickname, since only she called me that. Then a family friend for years started to call me that. She said, “I like that name better so I’m also going to call you Lorraine.” She was my mom’s friend so could I really argue?

Talk about being mixed up about what my name is. What I wished, is that my first name was Lorraine and my middle name was Sharon, then my mom would call me that, right?

What makes this even more confusing is, I’m my mother’s only child and anytime I made new friends, and they would come over my house, my mom would call me Lorraine and confuse them. So many times my friends would whisper to me or their sister or brother, whomever was with us. “I thought she said her name was Sharon, so why is her mom calling her Lorraine?”

Good question, my poor friends.

On one occasion I was at my friend’s house, my mom called and asked to speak to me. My friend runs to get me, looking truly scared and said, “your mom is on the phone, and she’s calling you Sharon, you must have done something wrong!” I explained, that she will also call me Sharon when she refers to me around other people. Wow, mom, so many rules and exceptions to the rule. All that to say my name is Sharon, and since she’s passed away only one other person calls me Lorraine, and that’s that old family friend. So now, it’s a sweet endearment to hear that name, since my mom died at 50 years old. I love you mom and miss you, and of course now, I like my middle name. Shazza ~ Musings&Rants

Mama MarilynMy mama, a year before she died 😦

So, here is where you muse/rant about what I've mused/ranted about...

