Stoker, Is A NO

Nicole Kidman, Mia Wasikowska, Matthew Goode/photo:http://www.beyondhollywood.com/
Nicole Kidman, Mia Wasikowska, Matthew Goode/photo:www.beyondhollywood.com

I didn’t care for this movie Stoker, mostly because I didn’t understand or was able to connect with any of the characters. I was truly puzzled.  Sometimes movies are meant for a specific audience, so maybe I’m super simple when it comes to art.

The director is Korean, and he needed an interpreter to direct his actors, that’s got to pose some problems, because of the language barrier.  He directed another movie called, “Old Boy,” which was very fragmented and violent, kind of like this one.

I watched “Old Boy,” at my daughter’s leading and didn’t understand it.  She however, loved that movie, which puzzled me as well.  I must say that my daughter, is very creative and artsy, so maybe it takes that kind of mind.  Whatever the case that movie, or this movie Stoker, I give this a grade of D.

I loved the actors in the movie but didn’t care for the movie.  I didn’t understand it’s premise or the symbolism, or much of anything about it.

I also, can’t really even articulate what Stoker was about, other than to say, it’s about a girl, played by Mia Wasikowska, Alice in Wonderland, Jane Eyre, who’s uncle is completely CRAZY, COO COO, played by Matthew Goode, A Single Man, Match Point.  And how this manifests itself.  Also, Nicole Kidman, Moulin Rouge, The Others, played the mother, who just had a look of terror on her face the whole time.  I was utterly disappointed, I’m not even sure why these actors would take these parts?  The movie is rated R.  Shazza ~ Musings&Rants

So, here is where you muse/rant about what I've mused/ranted about...

