The Ladybug Chronicals (part 2)

So things are really heating up with my daughter.  I was just informed yesterday, that she and her friend Matt are going to start pre marital counseling!  I was surprised to say the least, all I could say was, “oh really?”

They’re very young and want to get married, in a way I’m excited but speechless, because they have only known each other since January.  So there it is, now all I’m waiting for is his official asking her hand in marriage speech.

He said he was going to contact me this week to ask me if it was ok.

That’s a good question, is it ok?  My goodness I didn’t see this coming, I was just getting used to him being her “little friend,” as I called it, and now we have something really different on the table here.

 Although should I be that surprised?  My daughter’s been telling me since she was very young, she wanted to be married and have lots of babies one day.  So, here I sit, with my mouth wide open, thinking about what to say to this young man.

The couple
The couple

His reasons seem super adorable and genuine that I’m sure it’s ok.  I’m just losing my baby girl and it makes me a little uncomfortable.  The bible says,

Genesis  2:24  ~ Therefore a man shall leave his father and his mother and hold fast to his wife, and they shall become one flesh. (ESV)

So since I can’t really argue with the bible, I suppose I will get on board with this.   He seems like a godly man and he wants the best for her, I mean that’s what I asked God for, so long ago when she was a baby.   So here we are, WOW.   God, answered my prayers, and with whom He chose for her.   So, I’m happy I think, well I will pray again to be sure.   There is a saying, to be careful what you pray for you just might get it.   Umm, so yeah, it looks like I just got it.  Shazza ~ Musings&Rants

2 thoughts on “The Ladybug Chronicals (part 2)

  1. Ok, Cheryl, thanks for the push to get on board, your a lovely friend, wow, who knew that your word of encouragement would be what I needed to hear to seal the deal in my mind. God truly does work in mysterious ways, and through mysterious means. I love your story by the way with an awesome happy ending, and it looks like I’m probably going to get those grand babies I want in the future. So I’m praising the Lord, and your right they are staying chased and want to stay that way til their wedding day and that’s almost unheard of now a days!!! I’ve missed your encouragements, friend you always make me cry. I’m so glad I met you and my friend Valerie here!!!
    Blessings to you, Shazza

    Like

  2. Sharon,

    More than 32 years ago, I married the love of my life. I know, I’ve said that before, but what you may not know is that I married him 2 days before I turned 20. We only went together for 7 months before we were married. He started working at this job where he would work 8-4 for a week, then 4-12 the next week, then 12-8 the following week, then he had a 3 day weekend. So, when he got off from his first 4-12 shift at this job, we were both bemoaning the fact that we never even got to see each other during that whole week, because I was working during the day, and I didn’t get off work until after he had left for work. So he said that he had a long weekend coming up the following week, “Let’s get married then.” It seemed perfectly reasonable to me on many levels, so I said yes, and we married a week later.

    My parents said all sorts of ugly things, and many people said it would never last, because we hadn’t known each other long enough, and I was too young. His parents were very supportive, though. It seems they had done the same thing years ago. Anyway, I’m still married to the same man, and we’ve had some bumpy roads in our marriage, but I love him even more today than ever before, and I wouldn’t change a thing.

    Be encouraged, my sister, because so many other young people are choosing to shack up. Your daughter and her young man love the Lord and each other enough to marry.

    Love,
    Cheryl

    Like

So, here is where you muse/rant about what I've mused/ranted about...

