Happy 22nd Birthday, Ladybug!!!

Prom May 2009 lani polaroidLailani T. Sheffield, just turned 22 on the 4th of July.

It was a lonely day for me, because she spent it with her friends in Los Angeles, away from me.  Lately, she does a lot of things without me that we used to do together, and I guess that’s because she is an adult now.

Lani all the way to the right with all the other Super Mario Bros. LA Anime Expo
Lani all the way to the right with all the other Super Mario Bros. LA Anime Expo 2013

As I reflect on her early 20’s it’s an adjustment.

I’m finally starting to get used too it now.   I’m glad for her new-found independence, I’m amazed at how much more independent she is at this age, than I was at that age.

It’s good she doesn’t need me, I guess I’ve done my job as her mother.   Now I need a new job, I sure hope she gives me grand kids after she get’s married.

Jeremiah 29:11 ~  For I know the plans I have for you, declares the Lord, plans for welfare and not for evil, to give you a future and a hope. (ESV)

I’m sure I will be quite busy again, wow that will be a treat!!!

Lani with her Super Mario Crew.
Lani with HER Super Mario Crew.

Shazza ~ Musings&Rants

2 thoughts on “Happy 22nd Birthday, Ladybug!!!

  1. I’ve been there too, it will sometimes be harder and sometimes so much better than this. The biggest gift we give our children is to set them out into life from a firm beginning and be there when we’re needed!

    Like

    • Yes, I agree, thank you for that encouragement, It’s her time to fly from the nest and do her thing. I’m glad I got the opportunity to guide her to here. I’m so happy for her independence. Thanks for the comment 🙂

      Like

So, here is where you muse/rant about what I've mused/ranted about...

