Thanks For Sharing, Is Addiction…

Mark Ruffalo/www.liveforfilms.com
Mark Ruffalo/photo:www.liveforfilms.com

Wow, how do I explain this movie?  I guess I should start by saying this is the first movie I’ve seen Gwyneth Paltrow in that I’ve liked since Shakespeare In Love. And that flick came out in 1998.  I suppose I just haven’t seen her in anything that memorable since then.  Which makes sense since she won an Oscar for that performance.

She was pretty good in this even though she had a small part.  Mark Ruffalo, Avengers, was awesome as always. I haven’t seen one bad movie he’s done in 10 years.  I must say however, I might be a little biased since I think he’s super cute, but that is secondary to his acting, I think.

The story is about a group of people who are sex addicts, and the movie makes a really good case for it to actually be an addiction.  Prior to watching this movie, I had a hard time excepting that people call it a disease. So, when a movie changes my opinion of about something that is a good movie.  So, this group of people know they have a problem and want to get well.  Mark Ruffalo’s character, has been sober for 5 years and is ready to date which, is where GP comes in.  The story was really interesting, and I felt like I was at an addiction meeting most of the film.  Tim Robbins, War Of The Worlds, was exceptional in his role, as well as the actor playing his son, Patrick Fugit, Almost Famous.

Pink/photo:idolater.com
Pink/photo:idolater.com

Another honorable mention was Pink, the rock star. This probably was her first role, playing someone other than herself, and I was very impressed with her performance, especially coming from a woman’s perspective on this addiction.  I didn’t expect her to brake out in song, and that’s good.  Overall, the movie was interesting, and I give it a B.  Thankfully, there weren’t too many scenes when these people fell off the wagon, BUT, there were scenes!!!

So, my ***safety alerts*** are as follows: 4 or more graphic sex scenes, lots of language, and subject matter, as well as a dubious view about sex in general.  So this movie is not for children or anyone under 18, and rated R. Shazza ~ Musings&Rants

5 thoughts on “Thanks For Sharing, Is Addiction…

    • Wow, that’s a long time, I’m a movie lover so I try to go as much as possible. Or when I know I want to see a movie I guess I should say. This one is very interesting, I must say, I felt compassion on these people who suffer with this problem. Thanks for the comment. 🙂

      Like

So, here is where you muse/rant about what I've mused/ranted about...

