I Couldn’t Rally With, The Counselor

Michael Fassbender/photo: insidemovies.ew.com
Michael Fassbender/photo: insidemovies.ew.com

When a movie starts off with a VERY gratuitous sex scene honestly where can it go from there?   I know Ridley was going for a whole other style, but, NO.   It’s disappointing when great directors, can’t convey intimacy without being super explicit, especially when it makes everyone in the audience uncomfortable.   I kept thinking, oh this is going to be a type of Oliver Stone, Savages, kind of movie and then I remembered, no Ridley Scott, Alien, Gladiator, directed it.  However, it was a Oliver Stone type of movie that was directed by someone who is usually a good storyteller.

Really, the only thing I liked about this movie was Brad Pitt, Se7en, World War Z.  He was very entertaining as a good ol’ boy drug dealer.  So when he left the scene or they cut to a new scene the movie went stale.  He is fast becoming a real actor after all these years, I’m very pleased with how he’s ameliorated his performances in the last few years.  If not for him, I would have left after the first 20 minutes of the movie.

So, the story is about a lawyer, Michael Fassbender, Prometheus, Shame, who works to get bad guys off, and decides he wants to make some more money and gets involved in some drug dealing with his bad guy clients.   After which it all goes sour from someone on the inside, double-crossing everybody.

Another word on Michael Fassbender, the new breakout name in Hollywood, who I haven’t really been impressed with since he really started getting recognized, in so many american movies.   Now if you said, Benedict Cumberbatch, that would be a whole different thing.   Fassbender, has been just okay in everything I’ve seen him in.  So this movie has been more of the same, mediocre acting, in my opinion.

As the story unfolds, the main characters all start to get knocked off one by one, and in the meantime he, Fassbender, is running, crying and looking scared for the rest of the movie.   Umm yeah, what did he think would happen?   If you mess with bad guys eventually you become one.

I’m just disappointed in this film, because it seemed like it had potential with the cast that Ridley Scott got, but it was just a lot of nothing.   There was no one redeeming at all I didn’t care about the characters and that’s when I lost interest.  This one you can miss completely, this gets a D, Don’t even bother. This flick is rated R, ***Safty Alerts*** on every level, wow, mostly for gratuitous sex scenes. Shazza ~ Musings&Rants

4 thoughts on “I Couldn’t Rally With, The Counselor

    • Yes this might have only had a limited release, but I’m thinking it did for the week and then after that nationwide. Yeah it was just junk as far as I’m concerned. It’s a shame when good actors are in badly written movies.

      Like

So, here is where you muse/rant about what I've mused/ranted about...

