Technology: The Dark Side of Efficiency, Part 2

Oh boy this is a great topic I hope you revisit it with another post, I look forward to it. But until then I will repost this on mine.

A Holistic Journey

A friend called herself lazy in telling me she replaced her laptop with her phone because the latter finishes her word for her as she types. I’d say that’s being efficient. But it is a fuzzy line between efficiency and laziness, isn’t it? Today’s family is surrounded by machines dedicated to saving us time because we really are so busy. I, notoriously so. My husband has come to see I honestly don’t have a New York Minute. So if you offer me something to maximize my time, I’m in (unless it has too many dizzying icons). But I wonder about the aggregate impact of a tech-dependent culture on our kids’ capacity to learn. How will children who’re used to commanding entertainment and sensory incitement at the touch of a button grow up to embrace endeavors that require simple patience and dogged commitment? It’s a concern I first explored in the…

View original post 169 more words

2 thoughts on “Technology: The Dark Side of Efficiency, Part 2

So, here is where you muse/rant about what I've mused/ranted about...

