Ticky Verbal Phrases

Is there a word or a phrase you use (or overuse) all the time, and are seemingly unable to get rid of? If not, what’s the one that drives you crazy when others use it?

They are horrible ugly reminders that you have no imagination. The one’s I use most are annoying to me and when I hear them coming out of others I cringe.

1. “Are you serious?”

2. “Umm, no.”

3. “That’s just bad business.”

4. “That’s just dummy, dumb, dumb.”

There’s one my cousin made up, that I just think is clever. “She’s all the way turned up.” This means she’s being loud and obnoxious, or just loud, maybe hyper and any other thing that is too demonstrative. It can interchange depending on gender, or you can use it plural or singular it’s very versatile.

I’m also guilty of “awesome”, and “oh my gosh.” What I really like is British overused words, like “lovely,” or “brilliant,” or “that’s extraordinary.” They sound so much fresher here in America. One other pet peeve is when men call women “dude.” What is the meaning of this???? I get angry when I hear this. Sometimes, my son-in-law says it to my daughter or to me and I just want to strangle him. It’s almost disrespectful, or maybe I’m just super old school. I hate to think that but wow, maybe and that’s ok because, “I’m not tryin to hear that,” oh look another one lol. ~ Musings&Rants

2 thoughts on “Ticky Verbal Phrases

So, here is where you muse/rant about what I've mused/ranted about...

