A Seasonal Exclamation Point!

Daily Prompt: Today’s Summer Solstice, the longest day of the year (in the Northern Hemisphere). How are you taking advantage of the extra hours of light this time of year? Do you like it, or do you already miss earlier sunsets?


What a lovely time of year, a time when the days are long and nights are short. A time when you can reflect on what’s happened in the last six months of your life. What’s nice about this time for me is, my birthday is in the beginning of January. This was just another day of the year, but since this prompt it’s more.

For a very long time I have known that this day was the longest day of the year and the first day of summer, but it was just June 21 and nothing special. But as one gets older, you start to reflect on your life a little more. You start to question why you’re here and what you should be doing. You start to realize this life isn’t about your success but it’s about something more depth full and purposeful. You start to realize you are here to give to what the worlds needs are, and leave it better than you then when you pop up in it. I must leave this place better than I found it, I must!!! And this solstice can help to put those things into proper perspective and gives you an opportunity clear your mind about the next six months and the endeavors to give to others more and think about self less.

Now as far as the question about missing earlier sunsets and whatever, no, I won’t miss them, but I do love night-time and will miss that. And because I live in California, and really only have 2 seasons hot and cold, I will definitely miss cold. But as true is that is I look forward to pressing on and doing what is right, and good, because that is what’s important.

So, here is where you muse/rant about what I've mused/ranted about...

