8th Deadly Sin?

I just read this blog and was struck by it, because I’ve often thought in a crisis that I’m witnessing would I help and intervene? Or just stand by and say how horrible it is to see something like that. So far I haven’t been tested in this area yet. But after reading this wonderful post by greatsnaps, goodtimes and me, I have to say this is something for us all to be faced with and to think about. What a great challenge, to not be this kind of person!!! This post was so good by the way I started following her blog.

greatsnaps, goodtimes and me

The Seven Deadly Sins in Christian belief are a list of seven rebellious tendencies that afflict humanity. They are wrath, greed, sloth, pride, lust, envy, and gluttony.

If I could add an 8th deadly sin to the list, what would it be?

This is easy for me. Don’t be a bystander. See something; say something. Or do something. People who are bystanders think they play a neutral role though they rarely do. Silence/inaction often implies acceptance or support of the situation to those around them as well as to the offender and the offended.

What is the bystander effect?

This term refers to the phenomenon in which the greater the number of people present, the less likely they are to offer help a person in trouble. Social psychologists and researchers Bibb Latane and John Darley found that the there are two possible causes for this behavior.

  1. Diffusion of responsibility: Someone…

View original post 433 more words

So, here is where you muse/rant about what I've mused/ranted about...

