Precious Moments Redeemed

In the bible it teaches us to redeem the time for the days are evil, Ephesians 5:16, and the bible is right. Since we waste so much of it, when you do really get to redeem it, it feels precious.

My daughter and her husband spent the weekend with me, and since I hadn’t spent much time with them in the last few weeks it was very sweet. Because although it was very early in the morning, I got to spend real quality time with my daughter since she married her husband. Just she and I, kind of like old times when she was young and would slip into my bed when she got frightened about something.

Even though she wasn’t scared she slipped into my bed at 3 in the morning and we talked for a while about how things are going for she and her hubby. The precious part was that it was 3 am, we both couldn’t sleep and she came in on her own. She said, “Hey mama, I can’t sleep can I get in bed with you?” and I thought, these are the moments that you wait for as a parent. The moments, when you don’t have to compete for affection from your married children. They just come to you and want to be kids again. At least for a few moments. I was so moved by this it made all the time we spend apart so worth it, because it’s true even though clichéd, absence really does make the heart grow fonder.

white ladybug sign

So, here is where you muse/rant about what I've mused/ranted about...

