My Ms. Know It All!

Ladybug at a weddingDelayed Contact ~ How would you get along with your sibling(s), parent(s), or any other person you’ve known for a long time — if you only met them for the first time today?

The person would be my daughter, and she would probably get on my nerves because my daughter is a Ms. Know It All. When she was younger and in elementary school, she had answers for everything, since she grew up right in the age of computers and the internet, she would look it up and answer any, “I wonder why” question, I or someone she and I were with ever had. And her running answer to most of these questions was I saw it on myth busters. What I mean to say is, when I would ask her about her sources for answering the question she would say I saw it on myth busters and as she got older it just got worse.

This I must admit used to make me angry, because after a while I would start to quiz her on proof and she would stammer at times, till one day I said, “Do you know or do you just think you know?” and she said, “Sometimes I know for sure and sometimes I think I know.” And then I knew I was raising a Ms. Know It All.

What’s also interesting, is I’ve asked a few of her close friends what did they think of Lani when they first met her, and most of them said, “I liked her, but sometimes I thought she was a Ms. Know It All.” and I laughed and thought, wow it’s sure good to know who your children are. The best part of this story, is refuting her so-called proof and letting her know that her facts were wrong, and then remind her that she doesn’t have to have an answer for everything. That it’s okay to not know something, but also remembering to only refute her proof in private so as not to make her look bad. Do I still struggle with this in her today? Not so much, but it seems her husband has taken over where she left off and now I have to deal with him. 😦

white ladybug sign

2 thoughts on “My Ms. Know It All!

  1. Great Post – reminded me of something my coworker told me last week.. we were talking about people who say “I KNOW” at the end of a sentence when you are trying to explain something to them. My coworker said to me, “My mom used to say, “what you know and what you do are two different things” – so much truth in that statement. Anyway, I enjoyed your post 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks yes, I’m glad that my daughter doesn’t use the phrase “I know.” at the end of every sentence when I tell her something. She just always had the answer to why something is the way it is. It’s funny before the internet when I was young you used to have to go look it up in a book but now kids think, they are something because they can answer something in a few minutes. But I don’t want to just know what but why? You have to dig deeper now for more than just the answer to the question. There needs to be context. Anyway, I’m rambling now, thanks for your comment. 🙂

      Like

So, here is where you muse/rant about what I've mused/ranted about...

