Practicing The Past, To Get To The Future

Sky/Image: en.wikipedia.org
Sky/Image: en.wikipedia.org

One Way Street ~ Congrats! You’re the owner of a new time machine. The catch? It comes in two models, each traveling one way only: the past OR the future. Which do you choose, and why?

I definitely would have to pick the future, because I was pretty stupid in my youth. And the prompt didn’t say you will be able to keep what you’ve learned up til now. So for me, the future is my choice. The Bible states that,

“The wise will inherit honor, but fools get disgrace.” ~ Proverbs 3:35 ESV.

In my past I thought I knew everything I needed to know about life but I actually knew nothing. And as we age we hopefully give up youth for wisdom, which is a great exchange, because youth can make us prideful, and although we might be quick in mind,  and agile in physical ability, we are really dumb at good decision-making. Somewhat addicted to pleasure, and excess, and just plain selfish. Wisdom however, is something that you receive after making a lot of dumb mistakes, also after learning from those mistakes and applying them. It’s real and tangible, something we must work for. It can also bring with it a feebleness of mind and body because wisdom is usually associated with getting older and as we get older the body and mind start to go.

Thankfully, feebleness doesn’t occur overnight, and if we want wisdom we can learn from our mistakes early and not live a wasted over indulgent life with lots of regret. So, what’s the answer? Knowing God in my estimation is the first right step in gaining the kind of wisdom that will not fade away or changes over time. Godly wisdom is omnipresent, unchanging, always current, and eternal.

“The fear of the Lord is the beginning of wisdom; all those who practice it have a good understanding. His praise endures forever! ~ Proverbs 111:10 ESV.

What does the bible mean when it says “The fear of the Lord?” Well, it means respect, adore, give attention too, listen, and seek, all actions, and something we need to strive for to obtain. Also, the word “all“, in the middle of the sentence, in Proverbs, is a promise from God that if we FEAR God we will have “good understanding,” or in other words, KNOWLEDGE, but also remembering that knowledge is not enough unless it’s put into practice.

So, back to the time machine, yes, I know I’m speeding up to my death, but hopefully with the bigger, wiser picture in place and heaven in my future. What could be better?

So, here is where you muse/rant about what I've mused/ranted about...

